La canción de la semana 9/12 (Ghostpoet/’Cash and carry me home’)

Publicado: 29 de febrero de 2012 en Canciones de la semana
Etiquetas:

Ghostpoet es el nombre artístico de Obaro Ejimiwe. Un cantante y productor musical nacido en Inglaterra en 1983. Ha generado un gran atención gracias a su primer disco publicado en 2011 ‘Peanut butterblues & melancholy jam’, dentro del más puro sonido underground, una mezcla perfecta de electrónica, de un hip hop más vanguardista junto a una voz y unas letras que han cautivado a buena parte de oyentes y crítica. Su primer single ‘Cash and carry me home’ ha alimentado sus escuchas y ha provocado entusiasmo por conocer sus futuros trabajos. Un look denominado hypster, con gafas de pasta y gorro o sombreros cubriéndole hasta la coronilla nada más y una selección de chaquetas de lana largas hechas a manos con multitud de colores. Sin duda ha dado aire fresco a un tipo de música que venía un tanto repetitivo y falto de originalidad. Su contribución puede servir para airear el futuro de dicho mercado. Melodías con mensaje duro, urbano, con aromas a alcoholismo y a problemas de barrio, lados oscuros que desbordan inquietud y soledad. Decadencia urbana explotada con un fabuloso gusto electrónico y una voz delicada. Todo su primer disco es una joya por descubrir, una sucesión de sorpresas que no hacen otra cosa que hacernos sospechar que lo mejor está por llegar. Seguiremos atentamente a este joven músico inglés para seguir degustando sus obras.

MI0003149547

‘CASH AND CARRY ME HOME’

GHOSTPOET

Álbum:  PEANUTS BUTTERBLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (2011)

***

Yeh yeh yeh yeh yeh
The right distance, the right distance

My hand greet whiskey like a newborn child
Last night I must admit it got quite wild now
Morning’s approached and I wrestle with a headache
That was spawned in hell by the devil himself
Now was not quite clear
But I wonder what shenanigans brought me here
While I’m cryin’ out loud and I’m feeling quite sorry for myself
I need to check my health
Cause I have much to know about myself

I know we fuss and fight here a little bit
I’ve had a couple drinks for a little bit
I’m beggin’ you
Just carry me home home home home home

I know we fuss and fight here a little bit
I’ve had a couple drinks for a little bit
I’m beggin’ you
Just carry me home home

I’m all on my own
Smashed up my phone,
Not sure of whereabouts
My mum kept on callin’ me just tellin’ me to sort it out, sort it out
Mum look, readin’ books and takin’ tests won’t take away the pain in chest
The aching limbs decide to vapor, sparked up your cigarette
Lookin’ out the window at the world,
I just ain’t ready yet
Such things just get me stressed,
Grey hairs are springin’ up and I’m startin’ to shake a bit
I’m still got some whiskey left, maybe I’ll just take a sip

I know we fuss and fight here a little bit
I’ve a couple drinks for a little bit
I’m beggin’ you
Just carry me home home home home home

I know we fuss and fight here a little bit
I’ve had a couple drinks for a little bit
I’m beggin’ you
Just carry me home home

I’m all on my own
I’ve kinda lost my throne, I’m absent from the scene,
I’m searchin’ for a way in life, I’m lookin’ for a theme
A plan or a scheme, a road to a better place
I’m splashin’ water on my face,
Wake up lazy bones, please just take me home
I’m out of my comfort zone, the liquids wearin’ off
Now I just feel alone
Now I just feel alone,
Now I just feel alone,
Now I just feel alone
Now I just feel alone

I know we fuss and fight here a little bit
I’ve had a couple drinks for a little bit
I’m beggin’ you
Just carry me home home home home home

I know we fuss and fight here a little bit
I’ve had a couple drinks for a little bit
I’m beggin’ you
Just carry me home home

I’m all on my own

***

Responder

